Optometrist of the Year

The Optometrist of the Year Award is presented to an optometrist who has been outstanding in serving and representing the profession of optometry. The nominees are scored in the areas of public service, service to the visual welfare of the public, service to optometry, and service to optometric associations. Nominations are submitted by WOA members and are then reviewed by an Awards Committee for selection. The WOA Optometrist of the Year is then nominated for the AOA Optometrist of the Year award during the following year.

Dr. Slaby OD of the YearDr. Lisa Slaby
2017 WOA Optometrist of the Year

Dr. Lisa Slaby, who works with the Oneida Nation in the Green Bay, WI, was presented with the Wisconsin Optometric Association (WOA) Optometrist of the Year Award on September 23, 2017 at the 117th WOA Convention and Annual Meeting at the Kalahari Resort and Convention Center in Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin. This award is given to an optometrists who has been in practice 10 years or more in recognition of their exceptional public service, commitment to the public’s vision and eye health welfare, dedication to the profession of optometry, and service to the WOA.

Dr. Slaby is the type of individual and professional that inspires those around her. Combining an excellent knowledge of the profession with grit and perseverance, she brings an exceptional combination of positive attributes to the great profession of optometry.  Dr. Lisa Slaby was elected to the position of president of the Northeast Wisconsin Optometric Society in September of 2004 before moving up through the leadership ranks of the WOA.  While society president, Dr. Slaby used her leadership skills to increase member participation and turn the society into a very active organization that holds multiple continuing education events every year.

Over the course of her years as an optometrist, Dr. Slaby volunteered for many leadership roles, first as a Director on the WOA Board in 2004, than an active member of the WOA Legislative Committee in 2005 and ultimately WOA President in 2011. While on the Executive Committee she traveled to a national advocacy meeting in Washington DC every year leading her fellow optometrists and optometry students in meetings with Wisconsin’s Congressional Delegation. Once her presidency was over, she was again elected as the president of her local society, where she has served since.

In addition, Dr. Slaby is currently a WOA student mentor. She has fostered interest in optometry through multiple middle school career fairs, presentations to high school career classes, career fairs for the Indianhead Technical College and has served as WOA representative to several optometry colleges across the country.

Dr. Slaby has volunteered much of her time to serving the underprivileged in various communities. She has volunteered at the Walkers Point Community Clinic in Milwaukee and is a previous participant in the VISION USA program which provides free vision and eye health care to infants.  She also dedicates a lot of her time with the Special Olympics Opening Eyes Program along with her two daughters.

Dr. Slaby’s public service appointments include past member of the New Richmond Area and Pulaski Chamber of Commerce, past secretary for the New Richmond Kiwanis Club and current Board of Director for the Pulaski Area Community Education Board. The WOA is extremely fortunate to count Dr. Lisa Slaby among its membership in Wisconsin. She is, quite simply, an outstanding optometrist, a loyal WOA member, and a wonderful person to her colleagues and friends.

Congratulations to Dr. Lisa Slaby.

The WOA is proud to recognize those optometrists who have been honored in previous years


2015 Jeff Sarazen, O.D.
2014 Marilyn Brenne Heinke, O.D.
2013 Richard Ames, O.D.
2012 David May, O.D.
2011 Michelle Harper, O.D.
2010 Mark Ebben, O.D.
2009 Eric Paulsen, O.D.
2008 Steve Drake, O.D.
2007 Jeff Byers, O.D.
2006 Kellye Knueppel, O.D.
2005 Richard Foss, O.D.
2004 Brian Hammes, O.D.
2003 Scott Kenitz, O.D.
2002 Eugene Cropp, O.D.
2000 Scott Jens, O.D.
1999 John Bonsett-Veal, O.D.
1998 Kerry Griebenow, O.D.
1997 Lynda Farrar, O.D.
1996 David James, O.D.
1995 Linda Dejmek, O.D.
1994 Greg Foster, O.D.
1993 Alfred Waltke, O.D.
1992 John Sterling, O.D.
1991 Jeff Clark, O.D.
1990 Victor Connors, O.D.
1989 John Carns, O.D.
1988 Albert Gorz, O.D.
1987 Charles Brownlow, O.D.
1986 Frank Baldwin, O.D.
1985 John Stern, O.D.


Custom Search

Additional Information